SCHEDULE
January 29, 2021
11:30AM - 12:30PM EST
8:30AM - 9:30AM PST
12:30PM - 1:30PM EST
9:30AM - 10:30AM PST
1:30PM - 2:30PM EST
10:30AM - 11:30AM PST
2:30PM - 3:30PM EST
11:30AM - 12:30PM PST
3:00PM - 3:30PM EST
12:00PM - 12:30PM PST
3:30PM - 4:30PM EST
12:30PM - 1:30PM PST
4:00PM - 4:30PM EST
1:00AM - 1:30PM PST
4:30PM - 5:30PM EST
1:30PM - 2:30PM PST
5:00PM - 5:30PM EST
2:00AM - 2:30AM PST
5:30PM - 6:00PM EST
2:30PM - 3:00PM PST
5:30PM - 6:30PM EST
2:30PM - 3:30PM PST
6:30PM EST
3:30PM PST
Innovation in Immigration: Using Technology to Support Immigrants
Julie Pearl (moderator), Sophie Alcorn, Sarrah Nomanbhoy, and Amélie-Sophie Vavrovsky
Preparing for Immigration Policy Under a New Administration
Jeremy Robbins (moderator), Lauren Wyatt, Amélie-Sophie Vavrovsky, and Daniel Bleiberg
Creating and Running Remote Legal Services: The Formation and Evolution of Remote Projects
Patricia Malone (moderator), April Newman, and Sandra Sandoval
The Future of Legal Technology 
Drew Amerson (moderator), Peter Wasserman, Simon Boehme, Riyanka Roy Choudhury, Jared Jaskot, and Amélie-Sophie Vavrovsky
Building Inclusive and Accessible Digital Communities
Angela Blanchard (moderator), Briana Das, and Melissa Diamond
Virtual Justice: Meeting Cross-Border Legal Needs During a Pandemic - Lessons Learned & What Comes Next
Kathy Khommarath (moderator), Julia Vázquez, Margaret Cargioli, Casey Myers, Daniel Huang, and Amélie-Sophie Vavrovsky
Skill Share: Language Justice for Your Organization
Atif Javed
Anti-Surveillance and the Duty to Encrypt: Practical Lessons for Nonprofit Organizations
Albert Cahn, Nash Sheard, Matt Mitchell, and Peter Micek
Skill Share: How to Use Technology to Set Up Your Virtual Legal Clinic
Amélie-Sophie Vavrovsky and Noah Picard
Technology and Critical Programming Funding for Nonprofit Organizations
Amy Sample Ward (moderator), Kavitha Sreeharsha, and Ken Montenegro
Skill Share: How to Use Technology to Set Up Your Virtual Legal Clinic
Amélie-Sophie Vavrovsky and Noah Picard
Legal Design: A Human-Centered Approach to the Legal World
Margaret Hagan and Nóra Al Haider
An Introduction to Design Thinking: Maximize Your Creativity
Hannah O'Day and Vivian Feig
Privacy and Cybersecurity 101 : A Practical Introduction for Nonprofit Organizations
Maya Ziv and Cooper Barry de Nicola
Digital Civil Society Workshop on Data and Culture
Priya Narayana
NETWORKING
Banner (1).png

THE FUTURE OF REMOTE LEGAL ASSISTANCE

Securing access to justice through security, accessibility, and innovation.

January 

 
 
 
SPEAKERS
Click image to learn more about each speaker.
Amy Sample Ward
Jared Jaskot
Margaret Cargioli
Casey Myers
Melissa Diamond
Sandra Sandoval
Patricia Malone
Amélie-Sophie Vavrovsky
Co-Founder at Formally and Graduate Researcher at the Stanford Digital Civil Society Lab
Lucy Bernholz
Senior Research Scholar at Stanford’s Center on Philanthropy and Civil Society and Director of the Digital Civil Society Lab
Margaret Hagan
Director of the Legal Design Lab and Lecturer at the Stanford Institute of Design
Amy Sample Ward
CEO at NTEN
Hannah O'Day
Bioengineering PhD Candidate
Vivien Feig
Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Jared Jaskot
Immigration Attorney and Founder of YoTengoBot
Drew Amerson
Director of LexLab
Atif Javed
Executive Director of Tarjimly.org
Margaret Cargioli
Managing Attorney of the Cross-Border Initiative (CBI) Project at Immigrant Defenders Law Center
Casey Myers
Founder and Executive Director of One Digital World
Matthew Mitchell
Hacker and Tech Fellow at The Ford Foundation
Jeremy Robbins
Executive Director of New American Economy
Sarrah Nomanbhoy
Co-Founder & Executive Director of Marhub International
Melissa Diamond
Founder and Executive Director of a Global Voice for Autism
Kathy Khommarath
Immigration and Immigrants' Rights Attorney
Albert Cahn
Surveillance Technology Oversight Project's (S.T.O.P.'s) Founder and Executive Director
Peter Micek
Legal Director at Access Now
Lauren Wyatt
Attorney with Catholic Charities Community Services
Julia Vázquez
Clinical Professor of Law at Southwestern Law School
Julie Pearl
Legal/Tech Entrepreneur, Former Deputy Attorney General
Angela Blanchard
Expert practitioner in community development
Sandra Sandoval
Program Manager at Immigration Advocates Network
Maya Ziv
Stanford MSCS Student
Simon Boehme
Vice President of Legaler and President of Legaler Aid
Priya Narayana
Project Manager at the Stanford Digital Civil Society Lab 
Daniel Bleiberg
Associate on Jones Day's Laredo Project
Riyanka Roy Choudhury
CodeX Fellow 
Patricia Malone
Associate Director at Immigration Advocates Network
Ken Montenegro
Co-founder of the Stop LAPD Spying Coalition 
Sophie Alcorn
Founder at Alcorn Immigration Law
April Newman
Immigration Advocate
Nóra Al Haider
Policy and Design Lead at the Legal Design Lab
Briana Das
Head of Design at Formally and Senior Designer at Nebula Consulting
 
SPEAKERS
Click image to learn more about each speaker.
Amy Sample Ward
Jared Jaskot
Margaret Cargioli
Casey Myers
Melissa Diamond
Sandra Sandoval
Patricia Malone
Amélie-Sophie Vavrovsky
Co-Founder at Formally and Graduate Researcher at the Stanford Digital Civil Society Lab
Lucy Bernholz
Senior Research Scholar at Stanford’s Center on Philanthropy and Civil Society and Director of the Digital Civil Society Lab
Margaret Hagan
Director of the Legal Design Lab and Lecturer at the Stanford Institute of Design
Amy Sample Ward
CEO at NTEN
Hannah O'Day
Bioengineering PhD Candidate
Vivien Feig
Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Jared Jaskot
Immigration Attorney and Founder of YoTengoBot
Drew Amerson
Director of LexLab
Atif Javed
Executive Director of Tarjimly.org
Margaret Cargioli
Managing Attorney of the Cross-Border Initiative (CBI) Project at Immigrant Defenders Law Center
Casey Myers
Founder and Executive Director of One Digital World
Matthew Mitchell
Hacker and Tech Fellow at The Ford Foundation
Jeremy Robbins
Executive Director of New American Economy
Sarrah Nomanbhoy
Co-Founder & Executive Director of Marhub International
Melissa Diamond
Founder and Executive Director of a Global Voice for Autism
Kathy Khommarath
Immigration and Immigrants' Rights Attorney
Albert Cahn
Surveillance Technology Oversight Project's (S.T.O.P.'s) Founder and Executive Director
Peter Micek
Legal Director at Access Now
Lauren Wyatt
Attorney with Catholic Charities Community Services
Julia Vázquez
Clinical Professor of Law at Southwestern Law School
Julie Pearl
Legal/Tech Entrepreneur, Former Deputy Attorney General
Angela Blanchard
Expert practitioner in community development
Sandra Sandoval
Program Manager at Immigration Advocates Network
Maya Ziv
Stanford MSCS Student
Simon Boehme
Vice President of Legaler and President of Legaler Aid
Priya Narayana
Project Manager at the Stanford Digital Civil Society Lab 
Daniel Bleiberg
Associate on Jones Day's Laredo Project
Riyanka Roy Choudhury
CodeX Fellow 
Patricia Malone
Associate Director at Immigration Advocates Network
Ken Montenegro
Co-founder of the Stop LAPD Spying Coalition 
Sophie Alcorn
Founder at Alcorn Immigration Law
April Newman
Immigration Advocate
Nóra Al Haider
Policy and Design Lead at the Legal Design Lab
Cooper de Nicola
Stanford Computer Science student and Trust & Safety Engineer at Robinhood
Nash Sheard
Associate Director of Community Organizing at the Electronic Frontier Foundation
Daniel T. Huang
Immigration and Nationality Law Specialist
Briana Das
Head of Design at Formally and Senior Designer at Nebula Consulting
ORGANIZERS
Amélie Sophie-Vavrovsky
Lead Organizer
Chace Pulley
Outreach and Logistics

© 2021 by Formally and the Stanford Digital Civil Society Lab